If you need a professional headshot for LinkedIn, a website bio, a conference speaker page, or a dating profile, these eight tools are worth comparing. This guide shows the current price, source-photo requirement, turnaround, customization, and tradeoffs for each one.
_Last verified: 2026-08-21. Prices, photo counts, upload requirements, turnaround times, and refund or redo terms were checked against each vendor's official product, pricing, or help pages. Promotional prices are labeled where the list price differs. Where a vendor publishes conflicting timing language, this guide states the discrepancy._
Quick comparison
| Tool | Starting price (USD) | Photos delivered | Source photos needed | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portreya | from $4.99 | 2 to 15 by pack (top up for more) | 1 selfie | Pre-generation control from one selfie |
| HeadshotPro | $29 (Starter) | 30 | a few selfies; no exact number stated | Established workflow and refund protection |
| Aragon AI | $35 (Basic, list $44) | 40 | 6 selfies | Industry presets and fast delivery |
| Secta Labs | $49 promo (list $99) | 200+ | at least 20 | Post-generation editing depth |
| BetterPic | $35 (Basic) | 20 (4K) | 8 selfies | 4K output and human edits |
| Photo AI | $19/mo (or $99/yr) | 50 credits/mo | not stated on pricing page | Ongoing experimentation |
| Dreamwave AI | $35 promo (list $55) | 40 | 1 selfie | One-selfie batch with clear privacy terms |
| The Multiverse AI | $29.99 | 120 | 12 to 15 selfies | Lowest listed cost per delivered image |
What actually matters for one person
If you have never bought an AI headshot before, the marketing pages can make every tool sound identical. The differences become visible only when you try them. Three questions decide most individual outcomes:
Does it look like you? The biggest tell that an AI headshot is AI is not artifact quality. It is identity drift, where the photo looks like a different person who happens to share your face shape. Some tools preserve identity better than others. Realism beats polish.
What protection do you have if the result disappoints? Some vendors offer previews, redos, or refunds, while others exclude retries on entry plans. Read the exact terms before paying. Portreya account creation is free, but generation starts with a paid pack and is protected by a 14-day money-back guarantee.
What does it do with your photos? Professional photos are personal data. Read the policies for training-set use, retention, and deletion. The privacy posture varies a lot across tools.
The eight tools below take different approaches to price, input effort, customization, and output volume. The right choice depends on which tradeoff matters most to you.
1. Portreya
Portreya is our own AI headshot product. Disclosure: I run Portreya alongside TeamShotsPro. That is the bias to read this section through. Here is what is true:
- Works from one selfie. That ties the lowest stated requirement in this comparison with Dreamwave. Several alternatives ask for a few to 20 source photos.
- Full control before generation. Choose clothing, pose, background, expression, framing, and lighting before each image is created.
- Roughly 60 seconds per image. Each paid image is generated individually after you choose its settings.
- Starts at $4.99. The Starter pack is $4.99 for 2 photos, with the Essential pack at $27.49 for 10 photos and Signature at $29.99 for 15. One-time purchase, no subscription, and you can top up when you want more. Your photos are yours to keep.
- 14-day money-back guarantee. You can create an account without a card, then choose a paid pack when you are ready to generate. There is no free generation or free preview.
2. HeadshotPro
HeadshotPro is one of the most established brands in this comparison. Its Starter package is $29 for 30 headshots. The main page currently promises results in under 30 minutes, while the embedded Starter order card says delivery in under two hours. It asks for a few selfies but does not state an exact minimum on the public page.
Where HeadshotPro wins for individuals: a simple workflow, an established reputation, and a full refund if you do not get a profile-worthy result.
Where it falls short: the Basic plan includes no retry, and additional photo credits cost extra. Clothing, pose, and backdrop changes happen after the first batch rather than through detailed controls before generation.
Best for: job seekers, freelancers, and solo consultants who want a familiar provider and a large first batch without directing every detail.
3. Aragon AI
Aragon AI stands out for presets and speed. Its current promotional pricing is $35 for 40 Basic headshots, $45 for 60 Standard headshots, and $75 for 100 Executive headshots. The listed generation times are 45, 30, and 15 minutes respectively. Aragon asks for six source selfies and offers attire and background choices by tier.
Where Aragon wins: fast delivery, clear tier differences, and useful industry-oriented styling controls.
Where it falls short: six source selfies still require more preparation than a one-selfie flow, and 40 to 100 outputs create a larger gallery to review.
Best for: professionals who want several polished directions quickly and are comfortable choosing from a larger batch.
4. Secta Labs
Secta Labs lists a Professional package at a $49 promotional price, down from $99, for 200+ HD photos with access to 90+ styles. Its official help center asks for at least 20 source images. Secta also includes Remix tools for changing clothing, expressions, backgrounds, hair, glasses, and other details after generation, plus a stated 30-day money-back guarantee.
Where Secta wins: post-generation editing depth and a large output gallery.
Where it falls short: at least 20 uploads is the heaviest stated input requirement in this comparison, and 200+ results take time to review.
Best for: buyers who want a large gallery and expect to refine the selected image after generation.
5. BetterPic
BetterPic differentiates on 4K output and a hybrid AI plus human editing approach. The Basic tier is $35 for 20 headshots from 8 source images, Pro is $39 for 60, and Expert is $79 for 120. The Expert plan includes unlimited human edits on one photo and a free redo.
Where BetterPic wins: every plan includes 4K files and a commercial license. The higher tier adds a human editing safety net for details that automated tools miss.
Where it falls short: the Basic flow needs eight uploads and takes about two hours. Human edits and the free redo sit in the $79 Expert plan, not the entry package.
Best for: buyers who need print-ready files or want access to human retouching on the final selection.

